Guardian Info » How Do I Become a Certified Guardian?

How to become a National Certified Guardian (NCG):

Check Step 1 — Meet Minimum Standards for Certification

  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Be a high school graduate or possess the GED equivalent.
  • Have one year of relevant work experience related to guardianship or the following educational requirements:
    • a degree, certification or licensure in a field related to guardianship, or
    • completion of a course curriculum specifically related to guardianship approved by CGC
  • Submit to third-party verification and send proof of educational requirements.
  • Ensure proof of work experience is sent to CGC on approved affidavit form(s).
  • Attest to not having been convicted or pled guilty or no contest to a felony.
  • Submit to a criminal background check and have not been civilly liable in an action that involved fraud, misrepresentation, material omission, misappropriation, moral turpitude, theft or conversion.
  • Attest that you have not been relieved of responsibilities as a guardian by a court, employer, or client for actions involving fraud, misrepresentation, material omission, misappropriation, theft, or conversion.
  • Attest that you are bonded or will obtain appropriate bonding insurance after certification in accordance with state statutes and local practice.
  • Attest that you not been found liable in a subrogation action by an insurance or bonding agent.

Check Step 2 — Complete your application and submit with an application and examination fee.

($100 non-refundable application fee and a $245 exam fee)

State-specific applications and fees vary.
Click here for the California application.

A full refund, less a $100.00 administrative fee, will be made if you send a written notice of cancellation. Cancellations received less than ten working days prior to the examination date will not be eligible for a refund.

Check Step 3 — Pass Examination.
You must show competency in guardianship by successfully completing an examination administered by the CGC. The examination is a comprehensive test consisting of multiple choice questions related to best practices in guardianship of the person and estate. Major categories of guardianship knowledge, also known as core competencies, are available on the CGC website. CGC expects that all fiduciaries will be knowledgeable in the ethics, standards and duties and responsibilities of guardians. The passing score is 75%.

For upcoming NGA Review Courses, click here.

Unsuccessful candidates may retake the examination for a $275.00 fee. You must fill out a new application and signature pages.